122nd IFA Shiled commence from July 5

KOLKATA: The 122nd edition of the IFA Shield is slated to begin from July 5, 2018 in Kolkata. This year’s IFA Shield will not feature any foreign teams.

First held in 1893, IFA Shield is one of the oldest tournament of the country and the fourth oldest of the world, but gradually lost it’s glamour and relevance since the turn of the decade, and from 2015 the organizers of the tournament, the Indian Football Association (West Bengal) decided to make it an Under-19 tournament.

Eight teams are divided into two groups and the top two teams from each group will progress to the semifinals which are slated to be played on July 15 and 16 respectively, with the showpiece final to be held on July 19. Matches will be played at Barasat Stadium, East Bengal Ground and Mohun Bagan Ground.

East Bengal, FC Pune City, Mohammedan Sporting Club and ATK are clubbed in Group A while Mohun Bagan, Churchill Brothers, Tata Football Academy and the winner of the qualifying round make up Group B.

The qualifying round for the IFA Shield is starts from June 26 with a total of 13 teams. FC Pune City were the winners of the tournament last time around.

Leave a Reply