Bordoloi Trophy 2018: Mohammedan clinch first title after 27 years

GUWAHATI: Mohammedan Sporting Club clinched the title in the 65th Bordoloi Trophy after beating Oil India 3-1 in the final played at the Nehru Stadium in Guwahti on Thursday.

Chrales Atcha put the Black Panthers ahead in the 26th minute before Philip Adjah scored twice in the 58th and 62nd minute. Meanwhile, Sirandip Moran pulled a goal back for Oil India in the 87th minute.

It was a match that Mohammedan SC dominated in possession with more than 60% going their way in the first 45 minutes as Oil India were content with defending deep into their own half hoping to catch Black Panthers on the break using the speed of twin strikers Sirandip and Mintu Boro.

However, Mohammedan SC never had it all their way in this contest as Oil India frustrated them by thwarting most of their forward moves, resulting in the Brazilians getting their first shot on goals in the 19th minute when Philip Adjah shot wide on the left after receiving a loose ball just outside the box.

There was another chance for Mohammedan SC to open the scoring in the 23rd minute when Ujjal Howladar was put through by Kamran Farooque, but like Adjah, he shot wide on the left before turning a provider to Charles three minutes later.

Thereafter, Mohammedan SC continued to dominate proceedings creating multiple chances for Adjah and Charles up front. However, the duo failed to capitalise and the score stayed 1-0.

The opening quarter of the second-half saw Mohammedan SC push up in numbers. Their dominance finally culminated into a goal in the 58th minute when Adjah found the back of the net. The Ghanaian striker timed his run to perfection to slot home from close range.

Four minutes later Adjah increased Mohammedan SC’s lead further to take his individual tally in the competition to four goals.

Towards the end Oil India went all out and were also rewarded with a goal in the 87th minute courtesy Sirandip, but that was all Oil India could manage as Mohammedan SC, thereafter, managed to hold on to their two goal cushion to clinch their first Bordoloi Trophy title since 1991.

This is Mohammedan SC’s 6th overall Bordoloi Trophy title. They were awarded Rs. 3 lakhs and the Bordoloi Trophy while Laltu Mondal and Philip Adjah were as the Best Goalkeeper and Man of the Tournament Respectively.

The entire team has decided this victory to the memory all those Bengali people who were killed in Assam recently.

Start a Conversation

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *