Category: SK. Kamal Int. Club Cup 2015

East Bengal ready to face Chittagong Abahani challenge in Bangladesh

Chittagong, October 19, 2015: The most successful Indian club in international competitions, East Bengal have landed in Chittagong on Sunday and have trained prior to their opening fixture in Sheikh Kamal International Club Cup against Abahani Limited
Chittagong, which will be held tomorrow at the
M.A. Aziz Stadium in Chittagong.

The red and gold brigade have trained at Dampara Police Line Ground in Chittagong.

“We have came here missing thirteen players due to their ISL commitments, who did not traveled with the team. Inspite of that we have came here with overall strong and experienced squad. We will make and change our strategy match by match. Every coach wants his team to become champions, and if the players can play to their full potential then we have a very good chance of becoming champions. Our
performance will prove that we have came here to become nothing but champions.” East Bengal coach Biswajit Bhattacharya said in pre-match press conference.

East Bengal captain Deepak Mondal said, “Though thirteen of our players are playing in ISL but we still have a strong squad. We will play eying on the highest price. With Ranti (Martins) and Dong (hyun-Do) upfront with have enough fire power in forward line and we also have a formidable back-line.”

Ahead of the tournament East Bengal’s opponent Abahani Limited Chittagong, who are also hosting the competition, have boosted their squad by recruiting several players on loan from local rivals Sheikh Russel Krira Chakra.

The Bangladesh Premier League outfit have loaned some of national stars like Jahid Hassan Ameli, Mohamed Zahid Hossain, Hemanta Biswas Vincent, Mithun Chowdhury, Russel Mahmud Liton and Reza from Sheikh Russel, beside foreigners Baybeck, Kingsley Chigozie and Yoko Samnick.

“The preparation has simply not been good enough. Everything depends on a few experienced players. If they can motivate themselves by utilising home support and give their best only then can we dare to hope. Being in the group of death our primary target is to qualify for the semifinals.” Chittagong Abahani Coach Shafiqul Islam Manik stated.

Kick-Off: 7.00 PM IST

Mohammedan announces 20-man squad for SK. Kamal Int. Club Cup


Kolkata, October 18, 2015: Mohammedan Sporting Club’s newly appointed head coach Subrata Bhattacharya (Potla) has named the final list of 20-players who will be representing the club in the upcoming Sheikh Kamal International Club Championship 2015 in Chittagong, Bangladesh.

This will be the first tournament for Bhattcharya as coach of the 124-year old club and he is looking it for preparations ensuing 2015-16 I-League 2nd Division.

In the competition Mohammedan are pooled with Dhaka Mohammedan, Sri Lanka’s Solid SC and Afghanistan’s De Spin Ghar Bazan FC in the Group – A, they will start their campagin against Solid SC on October 21.

The 21-member squad follows:

GOALKEEPERS: Sheikh Sadekuddin, Bilal Hussain Khan.

DEFENDERS: Kareem Omolaja Nurain (C), Sourav Chakrabarty, Kamran Farooque, Tanmoy Ghosh, Bikramjit Singh, Deepak Kumar, Jayabrata Dhar.

MIDFIELDERS: Monirul Mondal, Imran Khan, Kunal Ghosh, Hiralal Chhetri, Sheikh Shanawaz, Sridev Lohar.

FORWARDS: Ajay Singh, Kazeem Amobi, Taurus Manneh, Yohan Confectioner, Sourav Mallick.

COACH: Subrata Bhattacharya (Jr.)

East Bengal names 23-member squad for SK. Kamal Int. Club Cup

Kolkata, October 17, 2015: East Bengal chief coach Biswajit Bhattacharya has named the 23-member East Bengal squad, that will represent the reigning Calcutta Premier Division – A champions in the upcoming Sheikh Kamal International Club Championship 2015 in Chittagong, Bangladesh.

However, Biswajit Bhattacharya did not had a large pool of players for selection, as due to their Indian Super League commitments as many 14 of regular features were unavailable which saw the club management loan some players from other Calcutta Premier Division – A clubs.

East Bengal would leave for Bangladesh on Sunday morning and start their campaign in the competion against the hosts Abahani Limited Chittagong on October 20, thereafter will face Karachi Electric FC and Abahani Limited Dhaka on October 22 and October 24 respectively.

Sheikh Kamal International Club Championship is a invitational football tournament will be organised by the Bangladeshi club Abahani Limited Chittagong in the memory of Sheikh Kamal, the elder son of Bangabandhu Mujibur Rahman, from October 20 to October 30 at M.A. Aziz Stadium in Chittagong.

The 23-member squad follows:

GOALKEEPERS: Abhra Mondal, Dibyendu Sarkar, Tanumoy Das

DEFENDERS: Deepak Mondal (C), Bello Razaq, Samad Ali Mondal, Babu Mondal, Johnny Routh, Biswajit Saha, Avinava Bag

MIDFIELDERS: Prohlad Roy, Mohammed Rafique, Avinash Rui Das, Antoni Soren, Jagannath
Sana, Subodh Kumar, Subhojit Mazumdar,
Alvito D’Cunha, Tanmoy Kundu

FORWARDS: Ranti Martins, Orok Orok Essien, Do Dong-hyun, Jiten Murmu

CHIEF COACH: Biswajit Bhattacharya
MANAGER: Sammy Omollo


Sheikh Kamal Club Cup draw takes place; East Bengal Mohammedan grouped different

Chittagong, 12th October 2015: The group stage draw of the Sheikh Kamal International Club Championship 2015 took place at the Hotel Westin, Dhaka on Monday, where the Kolkata giants East Bengal placed in Group B while their city rivals Mohammedan Sporting Club found themselves in the Group A.

Sheikh Kamal International Club Championship is a invitational football championship will be hosted by the Bangladeshi club Abahani Limited Chittagong in the memory of Sheikh Kamal, the elder son of Bangabandhu Mujibur Rahman. A total of eight clubs from five countries will be seen competing in the tournament, participating teams are East Bengal (India), Mohammedan Sporting Club (India), De Spinghar Bazan FC (Afghanistan), Solid SC (Sri Lanka), Karachi Electric FC (Pakistan), Dhaka Mohammedan Sporting Club (Bangladesh), Abahani Limited Dhaka (Bangladesh) and the hosts Abahani Limited Chittagong (Bangladesh).


sk kamal cup draw4


East Bengal are pooled in the Group B of the tournament along side local outfits Abahani Limited Dhaka and Abahani Limited Chittagong the fourth team in the group are reigning Pakistan Premier League champions Karachi Electric FC.

Meanwhile the other Indian team in the competition Mohammedan Sporting Club have been placed in Group A with current Sri Lanka Premier League champions Solid SC, 2015 Afghan Premier League champions De Spinghar
Bazan FC and Dhaka Mohammedan SC.

The tournament will be held at the M.A. Aziz Stadium in Chittagong from 20th to 30th October. The champion team will get USD 25,000 while the runners-up team will get USD 10,000.