Salgaocar beat Bengaluru FC in penalties to reach the Durand Cup final

THIF Media, Goa: Goalkeeper Karanjit Singh saved Sunil Chhetri’s penalty as Salgaocar FC beat Bengaluru FC 5-4 in the penalty shoot-out to seal a Durand Cup final berth after a goalless semi-final at the end of extra-time played at Raia Panchayat Ground here on Thursday morning.

Bengaluru FC started off well with India internationals Sunil Chhetri and Robin upfront, with better poccessions the southern outfit created a number of good moves through Robin Singh, Eugeneson Lyngdoh and Udanta Singh but due to poor finishing they failed to score the elusive goal. However Salgaocar did have their chances in the match but those were not enough to penetrate Bengaluru defence led by John Johnson.

In the end it came down to penalties after 120 goalless minutes. Gilbert Olivera, Rocus Lamare, Nicolau Colaco, M.P. Zakeer and Darell Duffy converted from the spot for Salgaocar while Sunil Chhetri had his penalty saved by Salgaocar goalkeeper Karanjit Singh.


Salgaocar FC:
Karanjit, Augustin, Gurjinder, Pawan (Nicolau 58′), Gilbert, Douhou (Duffy 80′), Saran, Rocus, Kasonde (Zakeer 118′), Brian, Bikash

Un Used Subs:
Abhijit, Othallo, Clifton, Aslon

Bengaluru FC:
Ralte, Rino, Manju (Gurtej 87′), Keegan, Johnson, Beikhokhei (Udanta 40′), Thoi, Walker, Eugeneson, Robin (Vineeth 103′), Sunil

Un Used Subs:
Pawan, Curtis, Vishal, Rooney

Leave a Reply